Crack-Pot

I am addicted to my Crock-Pot. How awesome is it that I can throw all my ingredients into one pot, turn it on, walk away and when I get home from class and work I have a delicious and nutrition meal waiting for me?!

There are millions of crockpot recipes online but I have made my best crockpot recipes by just looking in my cupboard and throwing in what I got laying around. This recipe I made up as I was running out the door one morning and it turned into a weekly staple.

Tasty Fiesta Chicken Recipe

Ingredients:

1 bag of Trader Joe Mashed Sweet Potatoes (frozen)

(not the sweet potato tater tots! can sub for 3 medium sweet potatoes cooked and mashed)

1 jar of salsa (any kind you like!)

1 can of diced tomatoes

1 teaspoon chipotle powder

1/2 cup taco seasoning

1 teaspoon of diced garlic

2 chicken breasts (frozen or thawed)

Directions:

Put chicken breasts in crockpot and then cover with the rest of the ingredients. Turn on high for 5 hours or low for 8. How easy is that?? When it is done shred the chicken and mix it with the sweet potatoes that have become a creamy sauce with the salsa. This is perfect on tortillas as tacos or on spinach as a salad! Top with cheese and sour cream and dinner is done!

image

Other Crockpot Recipes:

This is a list of tried and true crockpot recipes I love!

Don’t Have a Crockpot?

I bought my crockpot at the Black Friday Sale from Macy’s for $15! I highly suggest getting one with a timer so once it is done cooking it switches to warming. Since I am obsessed with crockpots, I have a 6 quart for roasts and other meat dishes then I have a 2.5 quart which I use for soups. If you don’t have a crockpot and are looking to buy one the Instant Pot is a slow cooker, rice cooker, sautés and browns, pressure cooks, steams and warms! It does it all! So if you are looking for a versatile crockpot than this is for you! Or I always see crockpots at Goodwill and yard sales if you aren’t ready to commit to an expensive appliance yet.

Have any favorite crockpot recipes? Share your favorites in the comments!

Leave a Reply

