Do you want superpowers?

Just kidding. I don’t actually know how to give you superpowers. But I do know how you can feel like a super you by adding these 8 super-foods into your diet!

1. Sardines

Sardines are tiny little fish that pack a super nutritious punch! In 1 cup of sardines you get 56% of your daily Calcium, 72% Vitamin D,  221% Vitamin-B12, 24% Iron, 592mg of Potassium and 37 grams of protein! One can of these fish can also give you 313mg EPA and 688mg DHA which help with inflammation (source: Wild Planet).

My first experience with sardines goes back to when I was just a little child. While my Dad was sleeping I opened three cans of oily sardines onto the carpet. What a waste of amazing nutrients!!! I haven’t touched sardines since so for this blog post I decided to head down to the Co-Op and grab a can. I got Wild Planet Wild Sardines in EVOO with Lemon. Cracked that baby open and to my surprise the sardines still had scales and bones. I thought about just pretending I ate them for a good two minutes while I stared at the can but I grabbed a plantain chip and made a sardine sandwich and took a bite. To my pleasant surprise it was really good! There is no weird fishy taste or crunchy bones like I excepted but instead tastes like a milder tuna. I think sardines would be great to add to salad or to just eat alone with some chips like I did. I will be adding these into my weekly diet! These would be great to store in your desk or slip into your bag as you run out of the house for a quick and easy meal.

2. Grass-fed Beef

It’s not a hoax there is actually a huge health difference between grass-fed beef and corn-fed beef. First off, grass-fed beef contains significantly more omega-3 fatty acids which support healthy brain and heart function. Secondly, grass-fed beef has a higher concentration of stearic acid which is a saturated fat that does not raise cholesterol unlike grain-fed beef. Finally, grass-fed beef contains more Vitamin E, iron, zinc, phosphorous, potassium and carotenoids.

Most importantly though grass-fed beef comes from cows who are happy, healthy and living/eating in their natural environment. These cows are free to roam and munch on grass in the sun just as they have evolved to do. Since these cows are living in their natural environment they don’t need to be pumped full of antibiotics to keep them healthy or growth hormones to make them bigger faster to get processed quicker. The antibiotics and growth hormones given to grain-fed cows stay in the meat and then are passed to us when we eat them. These antibiotics are harmful to us and to our environment; Princeton summed up the harmful effects of antibiotics here.

3. Liver (Organ meats)

The most common question I get about liver is, since liver detoxifies your blood isn’t it full of toxins and thats not stuff we want to eat? While it is true that the liver is a detox organ it does not actually store any of the toxins in it. What is stored in liver are important nutrients that are used to detox the blood like iron, copper, vitamin A, D, K, E and B12. Liver also contains a high amount of folate which can be hard to get in your diet. For more information on the health benefits of liver and other organ meats click here.

After I read about what a nutrient powerhouse liver is I decided I needed to try adding it into my diet. I bought lamb liver from the Co-Op downtown and made this liver pate recipe (even though it calls for chicken). I again had to give myself a small pep talk before I ate the liver but it looked like bean dip so it was much easier to processes than the sardines. I found that liver has a unique taste but on a plantain chip with a little guacamole on the side it is a pretty delicious meal. I even convinced some of my friends to try some and they agreed it was pretty good. I have heard that an easy way to cover the taste of liver, if you can’t handle it, is to chop it into small pieces and mix it into meatloaf!

4. Fermented Foods

I love fermented food so much and think it is so beneficial to your diet I wrote a whole post on it here.

If you aren’t into making your own fermented foods my favorite brands to buy at the store are, Bubbies for sauerkraut and pickles, GT’s for kombucha and Kevita for kefir. My new favorite addition is Live Kombucha Soda which comes in rootbeer, cola, limone and pure doctor! If you love soda but want a healthier option these are the perfect combination!

5. Gelatin

Gelatin has a high concentration of nutrients and protein which can be hard to get in the Standard American Diet. In this previous post I talk all about why you should be adding gelatin in your diet and fun ways to do so.

6. Cinnamon

Cinnamon is a spice that may help keep blood sugar level and lower your cholesterol. This review paper looks at multiple studies and the results it found based off cinnamon being used.

7. Tumric

Tumric is another superstar spice which has anti-inflammatory properties and helps prevent cancer. This study lays out how this yellow spice commonly found in curry powders can be so beneficial to your health.

8. Water

Good old H2O! Drinking water can help prevent cancer, lose weight, flush out bacteria, prevent headaches and help you think clearer. The rule of thumb for water is drink half your body weight in ounces (you weight 140 pounds then you should drink 70oz of water per day).

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Toppers, Sauces and Condiments OH MY! | sasquatch in the kitchen

  2. Pingback: Spin on the classics | sasquatch in the kitchen

Leave a Reply

